Skip to content

什麼是 RFID 標籤以及它們是如何工作的?

RFID 作為一種有效跟蹤大量物品的技術贏得了聲譽。 這種能力在處理后 COVID 供應鏈問題方面變…

RFID 作為一種有效跟蹤大量物品的技術贏得了聲譽。 這種能力在處理后 COVID 供應鏈問題方面變得越來越重要。 但是什麼是 RFID 標籤,它們是如何工作的? 要瞭解 RFID 標籤,首先要瞭解 RFID 系統的元素。

RFID 系統由 RFID 閱讀器,軟體和貼在每個物品上的標籤組成。 RFID 標籤將有關物品及其位置的資訊傳輸到閱讀器。 當物品經過閱讀器時,閱讀器從標籤收集數據並將其報告給 RFID 軟體,例如 SML 的 Clarity RFID 軟體 。 該軟體編譯數據並使其可用,因此您可以隨時瞭解每個專案的位置。 RFID 標籤現在可以跟蹤電子產品眼鏡服裝的所有內容。

RFID 標籤的工作原理

大多數 RFID 標籤是無源的,這意味著它們不包含自己的功率。 當他們通過 RFID 閱讀器時,閱讀器的能量激活標籤,使其能夠將其資訊發送給閱讀器。 RFID 標籤可以「鑲嵌」或作為標籤粘在物品上。 它們也可以是貼在物品上的塑膠或金屬製成的硬標籤。

有源 RFID 標籤包含每 3-5 年需要更換一次的電池。 這些標籤非常適合實時跟蹤,例如在收費或貨物跟蹤應用中。 它們通常比無源標籤具有更擴展的讀取範圍,並且它們也往往更昂貴。

零售商在採用 RFID 庫存管理系統 時必須考慮的最大因素之一是選擇 RFID 標籤的尺寸和外形尺寸。

如何選擇合適的 RFID 標籤外形尺寸

零售商從實施 RFID 中獲得多種好處,包括前所未有的庫存準確性,減少缺貨,減少收縮,增加銷售額等。 然而,在過去,一些品牌出於美學原因拒絕了 RFID 系統,因為他們不知道如何在標籤上列印或嘗試笨重的 RFID 標籤。 服裝和配飾設計師花費大量的時間和金錢來創建標籤,標籤和包裝,以最佳地代表和增強公司的品牌。 他們最不希望的就是否定他們的辛勤工作,或者被笨重,不討人喜歡的 RFID 標籤限制在設計上。

幸運的是,對於服裝設計師來說,SML Inspire RFID 標籤具有多種形式,同時,它們的性能也得到了提升。 RFID 晶元和標籤開發人員現在正在創建小型離散技術,零售商可以以不顯眼的方式實施,而不會干擾品牌或玷污產品的吸引力。 這些進步使零售商能夠跟蹤難以標記的商品,如珠寶和香水,並通過實現更長的讀取範圍來提高靈活性。

SML RFID 為全球企業設計了數百種不同的嵌體。 這種種類繁多的 RFID 標籤使零售商能夠跟蹤服裝,眼鏡,化妝品,香水,配飾和其他產品,而不會對包裝或服裝標籤產生負面影響。 我們與領先的 RFID 晶元供應商合作,提供最小,最先進的RFID 標籤。 這些供應商包括:

SML 使用各種可用晶片,設計出滿足您特定需求並完美匹配您的品牌的高性能嵌體。 我們的標籤經過認證,可滿足您獨特的部署環境所需的性能標準。

這些 ARC 認證標準由奧本大學的 RFID 實驗室定義,確保 RFID 標籤“……達到或超過以一致且具有成本效益的方式為零售商和零售供應商帶來利益所需的績效水準。 市場上只有兩個標籤 – SML 的 GB3U7GB3R6 – 通過了所有11個標準類別的所有要求。

如何附加 RFID 標籤

隨著現在可用的標籤種類的增加,附加這些標籤的方法也隨之增加。 現在有許多創造性的方法來粘貼 RFID 標籤,而不會改變品牌。 在某些情況下,標記是完全隱藏的。 標記方法因項目的形狀、大小、材料、紋理和其他環境條件而異。 一些最常用的依戀形式包括:

  • 膠粘劑
  • 縫合
  • 掛機
  • 硬標籤

吊牌 是最流行的方法之一,SML 專門為此應用設計了嵌體。 我們的 GB3 嵌體尺寸為 50 mm x 30 mm,足夠小,幾乎可以應用於全球通常使用的所有服裝吊牌或標籤,同時仍足夠大,可提供出色的讀取範圍。

如何在難以標記的物品上使用 RFID

隨著 RFID 晶元變得越來越小,它們也變得更加強大。 過去,RFID 嵌體天線需要相當大,以便為通過碼頭門進行運輸驗證提供足夠長的讀取範圍。

現在我們有 RFID 標籤,它們非常小,但仍然具有極高的讀取靈敏度。 這些標籤為密集包裝的商品提供最佳跟蹤性能,這是零售行業 RFID 系統中庫存管理的常見挑戰。 現在市場上的 RFID 標籤大大增加了可以處理的物品數量,從而實現了更高的準確性和更快的輸送量。

此外,SML 還開發了 RFID 友好型包裝,解決了特定零售應用中液體或金屬引起的 RF 干擾問題。 這一發展意味著零售商現在可以使用 RFID 來準確跟蹤小型化妝品和香水容器。

SML 的標籤和軟體與我們合作夥伴的 RFID 晶元相結合,使零售商能夠從 RFID 庫存跟蹤中受益,而不會影響其品牌或設計。 請查看我們的如何選擇 RFID 鑲嵌 白皮書,以瞭解有關我們選擇 RFID 標籤的更多資訊。

Skip to content

What Are RFID Tags and How Do They Work?

RFID has rightfully earned its reputation as a technology for efficiently tracking large numbers of items. This capability has become increasingly important in dealing with post-COVID supply chain issues.

RFID has rightfully earned its reputation as a technology for efficiently tracking large numbers of items. This capability has become increasingly important in dealing with post-COVID supply chain issues. But what is an RFID tag, and how do they work? To understand RFID tags, it is first important to understand the elements of an RFID system.

An RFID system consists of an RFID reader, software, and a tag affixed to each item. The RFID tag transmits information about the item and its location to the reader. As the item moves past the reader, the reader collects the data from the tag and reports it to the RFID software such as SML’s Clarity RFID Software . The software compiles the data and makes it available, so you know where every item is at all times. RFID tags now track everything from electronics, eyewear, and apparel.

How RFID tags work

Most RFID tags are passive, meaning that they contain no power of their own. As they pass the RFID reader, the reader’s energy activates the tag, enabling it to send its information to the reader. RFID tags can be “inlaid” or stuck to the item as a label. They can also be a hard tag made of plastic or metal affixed to the article.

Active RFID tags contain a battery that needs to be replaced every 3-5 years. These tags are great for live tracking, as in toll or cargo tracking applications. They typically have a more extended read range than passive tags, and they also tend to be more expensive.

One of the biggest factors retailers have to consider when adopting an RFID inventory management system involves selecting the size and form factor of the RFID tags.

How to select the right RFID tag form factor

Retailers gain multiple benefits from implementing RFID, including unprecedented inventory accuracy, reduced out-of-stocks, shrink reduction, sales increases, etc. However, in the past, some brands have rejected RFID systems for aesthetic reasons because they did not know how to print on the labels or tried bulky RFID tags. Clothing and accessory designers spend vast amounts of time and money creating tags, labels, and packaging that optimally represent and enhance a company’s branding. The last thing they want is to negate their hard work or be limited in their design by bulky, unflattering RFID tags.

Luckily for apparel designers, SML Inspire RFID tags have a variety of forms, and at the same time, their performance has advanced. RFID chip and tag developers are now creating small, discrete technologies that retailers can implement in inconspicuous ways that do not interfere with branding or tarnish the appeal of a product. These advancements have allowed retailers to track difficult-to-tag items such as jewellery and perfumes and increased flexibility by enabling longer read ranges.

SML RFID has designed hundreds of different inlays for businesses worldwide. This large variety of RFID tags allows retailers to track apparel, glasses, cosmetics, fragrances, accessories, and other products without negatively affecting packaging or clothing labels. We partner with the leading RFID chip suppliers to provide the smallest, most advanced RFID tags possible. These suppliers include:

Using the wide variety of available chips, SML designs high-performance inlays that meet your specific needs and perfectly match your branding. Our tags are certified to meet the performance standards your unique deployment circumstances require.

These ARC certification standards, defined by the RFID Lab at Auburn University, ensure that RFID tags “…meet or exceed the levels of performance necessary to provide benefit to both the retailer and the retail supplier in a consistent and cost-effective manner.” Only two tags on the market – SML’s GB3U7 and GB3R6 – pass every single requirement in all 11 categories of the standards.

How to attach RFID tags

As the variety of tags now available has increased, so have the methods of attaching these tags. There are now many creative ways to affix RFID tags that do not alter branding. In some cases, the tags are entirely hidden. Tagging methods vary depending on an item’s shape, size, material, texture, and other environmental conditions. Some of the most commonly used forms of attachment include:

  • Adhesive
  • Sewn-in
  • Hang-on
  • Hard tags

The hangtag is one of the most popular methods, and SML has designed inlays specifically for this application. At 50 mm x 30 mm, our GB3 inlays are small enough to be implemented in almost all clothing hang tags or labels typically used worldwide while still being large enough to provide a superior read range.

How to use RFID on difficult-to-tag items

As RFID chips have gotten smaller, they’ve also become more powerful. In the past, RFID inlay antennas needed to be fairly big to provide a long enough read range for shipping verification through dock doors.

Now we have RFID tags that are very small but still have an extremely high read sensitivity. These tags provide optimum tracking performance for densely packed merchandise, a common challenge for inventory management within the retail industry’s RFID systems. RFID tags now on the market have vastly increased the number of items that can be processed, allowing for higher accuracy and faster throughput.

In addition, SML has developed RFID-friendly packaging that has solved the problem of RF interference caused by liquid or metal in specific retail applications. This development means that retailers can now use RFID to accurately track small cosmetic and perfume containers.

SML’s tags and software, combined with our partners’ RFID chips, allow retailers to benefit from RFID inventory tracking without compromising their branding or design. Please check out our How to Choose an RFID Inlay white paper to learn more about our selection of RFID tags.